BOOK REVIEW: The Kill Order (The Maze Runner #0.5) by James Dashner

13089710The Kill Order (The Maze Runner #0.5) by James Dashner

ISBN13: 9780385742887

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication date: August 14th 2012

Pages: 327 pages

Genres: Dystopia

Buy from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

hollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-d4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-d4d6uza

oie_transpagerent

The prequel to the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series.

Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth and mankind fell to disease.

Mark and Trina were there when it happened, and they survived. But surviving the sun flares was easy compared to what came next. Now a disease of rage and lunacy races across the eastern United States, and there’s something suspicious about its origin. Worse yet, it’s mutating, and all evidence suggests that it will bring humanity to its knees.

Mark and Trina are convinced there’s a way to save those left living from descending into madness. And they’re determined to find it—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some, you’re worth more dead than alive.

bebas-Jkai_regular

Surprisingly, I finished this book within only five hours (I skimmed through the last 100 pages, oops). What to say? I wasn’t impressed by this, it was nothing like the original trilogy. Oh, boy.

The Kill Order is a prequel which focuses around a group of individuals struggling to survive in the year after the Earth is ravaged by sun flares, all the while attempting to avert becoming victims of a deadly virus that is ravaging the eastern US.

“Scared. That’s good. A fine soldier is always scared. Makes you normal. It’s how you respond to it that makes or breaks you.”

When the story begins, Mark, Trina, Toad, Misty, and Darnell, together with army veterans Alec and Lana, are encamped in the Appalachian Mountains in western North Carolina, living in a village of huts. One day, Mark and Trina are shocked to discover that a Berg, an airship, comes to the village, and men in hazardous material suits begin shooting the villagers with darts that carry a dangerous virus and planning to kill them all.

“Let’s get this started, people. It won’t be long before we all lose our minds.”

It was a gritty novel with a LOT of sadistic and bloody fighting scenes, pretty much like The Death Cure, besides, I think the characters were quite likeable. I wish Mark and Alec were a couple in the book, maybe that way I could be more interested with the plot. Hehe.

The reason I read this book in the first place was to find the answer from all unanswered questions I was left from reading the final book of the original trilogy, but it seemed like not all of them had an actual answer. I was kind of disappointed, but then I saw a tweet on Twitter that reminded me of the release of The Fever Code on September 27th 2016. Well, I hope this one will satisfy me.

The Kill Order is not that great, whenever I plan to reread the series I’ll just probably skip this one. But if you’re a Runner (I’m not even sure if it’s what The Maze Runner fans call themselves) you need to read this to figure out a bittersweet closure that may be the beginning of it all.

I’m putting the book trailer link of The Kill Order down below. Happy watching, peeps.

you-wont-bring-me-down_regular

13 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Kill Order (The Maze Runner #0.5) by James Dashner

  1. I’m sorry this wasn’t the best read for you, and that it didn’t answer all of the questions that you were left with after the original series! I only tried reading this briefly, just after finishing The Death Cure, before dnf-ing, because I actually didn’t have the best experience with the original series and realised that I had little interest in the story of the prequel. I didn’t realise there was another book in this prequel series coming- I hope it answers some of your lingering questions, though! And hopefully you end up enjoying it- overall- a little more than you did this one.
    xx

    Like

    • yes it wasn’t a pleasing read for me, and sorry to hear that it didn’t work out for you too. the fever code is expected to be published in september 2016, and it is still not something i wait for. but i’m probably still going to buy a copy to complete the series, do you feel me?

      Like

Leave a Reply

