BOOK REVIEW: Champion (Legend #3) by Marie Lu

14290364Champion (Legend #3) by Marie Lu

ISBN13: 9780399256776

Publisher: Speak

Publication date: November 5th 2013

Pages: 369 pages

Genres: Dystopia

Buy from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

hollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uza

oie_transpagerent

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

Contains *MAJOR* spoilers from Legend (Legend #1) and Prodigy (Legend #2). You might not want to continue reading this if you haven’t read the first two books.

bebas-Jkai_regular

“He loves you, really he does. He’d love you even if it destroyed him. He matches you.”

Finally finished the entire series! I read this one when I was having a New Year’s Eve party at a villa with my cousins and I finished it only in about four or five hours. First of all I want to thank Marie Lu for being such an amazing author, the trilogy has been amazing. I know I’m probably too late to say it but I really mean it. THIS SERIES HAS CHANGED MY LIFE, and I know you feel the same too.

And the end of Prodigy, we knew that Day is sick and will most likely die because of his brain tumor, meanwhile, the tension between the Republic and the Colonies is getting wild. There are some assumptions that they will end up making a war. June stands along with Andien, even though she’s not completely sure if it’s the right thing to do, while Day is trying to safe himself and his brother, Eden, from dying.

Honestly, this was my least favorite book from the trilogy, the previous two had been lit. Not that Champion was bad (hey look, I gave all of the books from this series a 5 star rating), but it didn’t turn out like what I expected it to be. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed reading it so much. It was still a fast-paced and thrilling book like the other two, but I expected more action and explosives because it was supposed to be a ‘final’ act to complete the phenomenal series.

“It hurts every day, the absence of someone who was once there.”

You know, it’s so hard to make this review spoiler-free. But all I can say is the ending was so HEARTBREAKING. I literally cried after reading it, my sister recorded my reaction and sent it to everyone. It was way worse than AllegiantI LOVE JUNE AND DAY SO MUCH PLEASE HELP ME TO HEAL.

“You drive me insane June. You’re the scariest, most clever, bravest person I know, and sometimes I can’t catch my breath because I’m trying so hard to keep up. There will never be another like you. You realize that, don’t you? Billions of people will come and go in this world, but there will never be another like you.”

This is an enjoyable series for those who love action-packed stories. My favorite thing about Marie Lu is how she writes the book that it feels different, interesting, and so edgy. I’ll miss June, Day, Eden, and the rest of the characters so much. The only therapy I can do right now is to search for Juneday fanfictions and cry myself to sleep with all the feels.

Champion book trailer:

you-wont-bring-me-down_regular

10 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Champion (Legend #3) by Marie Lu

  1. I completely agree with you about the ending being way worse than Allegiant! It was absolutely devastating, and I had no idea how to cope with it. Absolutely brutal, yet bittersweet.
    Great review!
    ~Erika @ Books, Stars, and the Pages in Between

    Like

  2. I read this series for the first time last year! So you’re not the only one late to the party :-p. I LOVED what Marie Lu did with the characters, and even though we have SO many dystopias now, this managed to feel completely fresh because of the way her characters developed. Definitely one of my favourite reads from last year (and oh my soul that ending DESTROYED ME. Definitely bawled my eyes out haha)

    Like

Leave a Reply

