BOOK REVIEW: Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

ShattekrmeShatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

ISBN13: 9780062085504

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication date: October 2nd 2012

Pages: 340

Genres: Dystopia | Romance

Buy from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

hollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-dFF4d6uzahollow_star_png_by_vin8it-d4d6uza

oie_transpagerent

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

bebas-Jkai_regular

I read this in one sitting and I probably changed my mind about romance dystopia. First of all, this is a good book (not a surprise), it’s a combination of pretty much every common Young Adult elements; dystopian, romance, science fiction, and post-apocalyptic. I bought this book just because of those reviews from Goodreads and I thought I would enjoy it as much as they did. Not a false alarm.

“All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not just with my hands but with my heart.”

Juliette has been in a solitary confinement for 264 days because she accidentally murdered someone with her lethal touch years ago. Warner possesses an extremely keen interest in what Juliette can do, and she is horrified to know that he wants to use her as a weapon.

The good:

1. Juliette and Adam is perfect, or maybe too perfect to be real. When I saw things between them happened I was going to complain about how unrealistic it was but then I realized it could be so much worse if it didn’t happen this way, and I was like “oh okay fine“. And Adam is just so likeable.

2. Strikes like this are all over the book. And somehow I found it quite entertaining because I barely saw things like that. Yay for originality, but I’d like to see less of it in the sequel because I think it’s kind of overused. Not a bad thing but it could be better.

3. Pretty cover. Nobody can argue with me on this one.

The bad:

1. It seems like it contains 90% of romance and 10% of action so I doubt this is a science fiction book. I’m not into things like that so I’m putting ‘too much romance’ as a bad point.

It’s definitely not a book for everyone and I understand why, but you know what, this series is worth a shot. It’s beautifully written and so unforgettable (great job, Mafi). I’m going to buy the sequel soon to find out what happens next.

you-wont-bring-me-down_regular

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

