BOOK REVIEW: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

13138635These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)

by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

ISBN13: 9781423171027

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Publication date: December 10, 2013

Pages: 374

Genres: Romance | Science Fiction

Buy from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

starrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrhollow_star_png_by_vin8it-d4d6uzaadd to gr

Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive — alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.

The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.

OMG OMG this is such a cute book! I saw all the hype on Goodreads and I decided to use my birthday voucher to buy this beautiful one. Cover-gasm.

Tarver Merendsen doesn’t belong with high society crowd…

He’s just a not-so-wealthy war hero who works for the military. But somehow he finds himself saving Lilac LaRoux, the only child of the most powerful man in the galaxy when Icarus rips out of the hyperspace. They find themselves alone but for each other on an unknown planet with a lack of supplies. They believe they aren’t alone and there’s a way to survive if they rely on each other.

I enjoyed this one a bunch

This is a new kind of romance sci-fi with two POVs (Tarver’s and Lilac’s) and an original storyline, which is cute and exciting in so many ways. They’re THAT kind of couple who disliked each other so much at a point and 100 pages later they were like “wow I never thought this person would mean so much to me, all we ever did was just being on the same escape pod”, but they’re cute and the thoughts of them being together just make me so happy.

“Major, to what extent did you act upon your feelings for Miss LaRoux?”

“Medium.”

“Excuse me?”

“How am I supposed to answer that question?”

The plot was simple yet intriguing

The world building could be a little bit better but it was nice overall. Future seemed cool you know, with spaceships and energy station things. It was a beautiful story but I wasn’t feeling the ending where the huge plot twist happened, people seemed to praise the book because of it and I felt weird. But the best part of it was the writing! These Broken Stars was written beautifully and all of the characters turned out very well. And I got to add extra points for the most beautiful cover ever.

“And there it is, against all hope, like the sun peeking out from behind the clouds. The smallest hint of a smile.”

Oh wait, a reminder that Starbound is NOT a series, it’s more like a collection of three companion novels. So in the sequel things are going to be told differently, with a different couple, and a different world. There is a thing that saddens me a lot, I STILL CAN’T FIND THE SEQUEL ANYWHERE AT MY LOCAL BOOKSTORES. It means there’s still a long moment of waiting before I finally get a copy and start reading it, ah sad. I highly recommend people to read this! Yes, highly. You won’t regret it, it was a lovely adventure for me.

What do you think of this series?

you-wont-bring-me-down_regular

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. “In the sequel things are going to be told differently, with different couple, and a different world”

    I didn’t know that! That’s so upsetting, I really don’t normally like it when that happens. However, I’ve heard lots of great things about these books and the covers definitely are gorgeous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

