BOOK REVIEW: The Death Cure (The Maze Runner #3) by James Dashner

The_Death_CureThe Death Cure (The Maze Runner #3)

by James Dashner

ISBN13: 9780385738774

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication date: October 11, 2011

Pages: 325

Genres: Science Fiction | Dystopia

Buy from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

starrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrradd to gr

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over.

Contains spoilers from The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1) and The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2).

Wow, that was intense! Another mind-blowing story (which is a bit unhealthy for me) and a ‘nice’ way to end the series. (No, not nice at all. That’s sarcasm.) I can’t even remember when I finished reading this, it was a long long time ago, but at least I got the time to review it.

WICKED is so close to finding a cure for the Flare…

They need to put all the Variables together in one place to cooperate this one last test. The trials will all end, they will remember their past again, and the Flare will finally be stopped. But after all the things that happened to him and his friends, Thomas is not sure if he can trust WICKED. Their promises can be true, but if it’s not they will fall into WICKED’s trap once again. It’s up to Thomas to decide.

“I don’t think there is a right or wrong anymore. Only horrible and not-quite-so-horrible.”

It broke my heart

I feel so bad for Thomas and his friends for all these things WICKED has put him through, this is the part when he tries to give up on everything and lets them do anything they want. There was this mind trick James Dashner put into the book that I hated so much, and I didn’t have any clue who to trust. Seriously, I wasn’t sure if I was on WICKED’s side, Brenda’s, Teresa’s, or just anyone’s, and I was like “oh my God please stop playing me dirty like this I can’t do it anymore I want to sleep“. That really happened.

“Minho looked at Thomas, a serious expression on his face. “If I don’t see you on the other side,” he said in a sappy voice, “remember that I love you.”

AND ALSO, death. It’s called The Death Cure for many reasons, one of them is… simply because many people die. *COUGH* *HEAVY COUGH* *I-WANT-TO-DIE COUGH* *WHY-DID-YOU-DO-THIS-TO-ME-DASHNER COUGH*

tumblr_inline_n7mdie0Xss1rma0w3

Unfortunately, I’m left with all of these unanswered questions that I don’t even want to remember why I question them in the first place. Maybe I need to read The Kill Order as soon as possible so I’ll at least appreciate the series more because it kind of frustrates me. Okay, that’s a hell lot of frustration, if you want the truth. Why? Because…

Favorite character(s): Newt.

Thing(s) that made me so damn emotional: Newt’s anger, Newt’s depression, Newt’s worry, and basically Newt.

You’ll figure it out why.

Overall, I really enjoyed it even though it wasn’t quite the ending I hoped for. There are still so many maddening questions left in my mind and I hope they will be answered anytime soon because I can’t freshly start high school with these sickening thoughts running in my head.

Do people who read this experience it too? Because It’s stressing me out for sure.

One important question: how do you cope with character deaths? 😦

you-wont-bring-me-down_regular

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Death Cure (The Maze Runner #3) by James Dashner

  1. I love, love, love the Maze Runner series. I’m glad you enjoyed it and I know what you mean about the unanswered questions. I think they do these things intentionally!

    Like

Leave a Reply

