BOOK REVIEW: Paper Towns by John Green

PaperTowns2009_6APaper Towns

by John Green

ISBN13: 9780142414934

Publisher: Speak

Publication date: September 22, 2009

Pages: 305

Genres: Romance | Mystery | Contemporary

Buy from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

starrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrradd to gr

Who is the real Margo?

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…

“Margo always loved mysteries. And in everything that came afterward, I could never stop thinking that maybe she loved mysteries so much that she became one.”

Here’s a theory: if I fall in love with a fictional character that I feel speechless every time anyone mentions their name it means the book is special to me. And this time, John Green did it with Quentin. Oh, how I love books, my type of guys are easy to find. I love Paper Towns so much, there are many things I loved from this book: the story, the characters (Oh, Quentin), the cover, THE ENDING, Margo, Radar, Quentin, and… Quentin.

Love next door…

Quentin (or Q for short) is in love with the girl-next-door Margo Roth Spiegelman, who isn’t an ordinary girl. She really loves mystery. One night, Margo comes up to Quentin’s window, asking him if he wants to join her on a revengeful mission, and he spends the entire night with her. The next day, Quentin finds out Margo is missing. She left some clues for Quentin and he is determined to find her.

A road trip story

I’ve only read two John Green books this far, so I couldn’t comment on his style and things since I didn’t know much. But this book is definitely my favorite of his. The truth is sometimes hyped authors suck, Green is a part of the most hyped ones but he’s unique in his own way.

I’ve always loved road trip themed stories (that’s 80% of my Wattpad library is about) and it’s another reason why I love Paper Towns. The other reason must be because of Quentin. He’s kind of a nerd person, but at the same time, he can be a hormonal teenage boy. And I can somehow relate to Margo, she’s also a unique and amazing person, no wonder Q falls that hard. Same, Quentin, same. To be fair, I think Margo is a little bit selfish but I know she doesn’t mean to do it. Some people say Paper Towns characters are similar to Looking for Alaska, I haven’t read that one but I believe these characters have better developments. It’s an opinion, so decide for yourself.

It could be better

I finished this book for like three hours from around 10 p.m. until midnight. I LOST OF WORDS FOR DAYS. IT AFFECTED ME SO MUCH. Some things also changed my perspective of life. Sadly, I need to put a side note because I feel like preaching too much. The beginning pace was awesome, but it dropped in the middle when Q tried to figure out what Margo’s clues mean. I knew that he needed time to it, it was realistic, but could be more interesting if Green put a little more effort. Overall, it’s still a really good book. Perfect ones don’t exist, right?

The next thing I want to talk about is… the movie.

The movie

THE FREAKING MOVIE.

It comes out on July 24th in the US. I’M SO EXCITED THAT I CAN FEEL MY HEART BEATING IN MY CHEST (*cough* Quentin’s line *cough*). I can’t wait for the movie to come out so I can write a full review about it.

By the way, the second trailer dropped yesterday. Have you watched both trailers? I’m putting the links down below.


 ARE YOU AS EXCITED AS I AM? I HAVE A FEELING IT’S GOING TO BE A GOOD ONE.

Do you think it’s a great read?

you-wont-bring-me-down_regular

Leave a Reply

