BOOK REVIEW: Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu

prodigyx-inset-communityProdigy (Legend #2)

by Marie Lu

ISBN13: 9780142427552

Publisher: Speak

Publication date: January 29, 2013

Pages: 371

Genres: Dystopia

Buy from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

starrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrradd to gr

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

Contains spoilers from Legend (Legend #1).

Woohoo! Another Marie Lu book. I do think she’s one of my favorite authors, I feel like her writing is my cup of tea and finding my perfect cups of tea is a very difficult thing to do. Alright then, congratulations.

Prodigy is the second book of the Legend series (as you can see on the cover, it’s written A Legend Novel so it must be pretty obvious) and it is a very, very good sequel. In this book, you can expect more actions, rebellions, betrayals, and many shady characters. The last two points are why I’m obsessed with this book. For your information, I read this on a field trip and we were camping in the woods. I finished this in my tent at 2 A.M. and I thought it was the reason I gave it 5 stars—I couldn’t stop reading it.

The adventure continues…

After escaping from the Batalla Hall, Day and June are going on a search for the Patriots to Las Vegas, the biggest military city in the Republic of America, to find a way to rescue Day’s brother, Eden. In Vegas, they find out Elector Primo’s death and the news that his son, Anden, will take over his father’s position. The Patriots give the duo an offer to work with them because they are currently working on a plan that has something to do with the new Elector and need Day and June’s help to make things work out. Patriot allies try to gain their trust by promising for a better America and the duo has no choice other than taking part of the Patriot’s plan.

An unforgettable reading experience

Let me start this by saying how much I enjoyed reading the series so far. I can’t say which one I like better between these two books I have read, each one of them has its own ways to impress me. What I love about Prodigy is that it’s a face-paced book, which was so fun to read, even though it made me depressed because of its plot twists and betrayals. I swear I couldn’t trust anybody in this book. Some protagonists were becoming egocentric and some antagonists were suddenly helping. That quote is right, don’t judge a book by its cover. I think that’s pretty useful for warning you all about how shady some characters could be.

Man, this book really made me an emotional wreck. I slipped a couple of times while we were trekking, I couldn’t even concentrate on my trip. I admit my last field trip was the best yet the worst moment of my life and I blame June Iparis for this. If you’re seeking for heart-pumping action, I recommend you to start this series, immediately.

“Love is illogical, love had consequences–I did this to myself, and I should be able to take it.”

Prodigy book trailer:

And a trailer of the first two books of the trilogy for you to check out:

What do you think about this sequel?

you-wont-bring-me-down_regular

Leave a Reply

