BOOK REVIEW: The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2) by James Dashner

The_Scorch_Trials_coverThe Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2)

by James Dashner

ISBN13: 9780385738750

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication date: October 12th 2010

Pages: 360

Genres: Science Fiction | Dystopia

Buy from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

starrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrhollow_star_png_by_vin8it-d4d6uzaadd to gr

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.

Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.

There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die.

The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.

There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive.

Contains spoilers from The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1).

Oh well, Dashner strikes again! I read this one on vacation like months ago. Pretty new, because I knew I needed to catch up things before the movie comes out this September. Am I excited? Absolutely, even though the book didn’t really come out like what I expected before, I still am.

It wasn’t the end…

Finally, the Gladers are free from the Maze, but they thought the whole thing was over. The real world looks a lot more scarier than the Maze itself because it’s now affected by sun flares and a disease named the Flare that starts taking many people’s lives. Then they all find themselves in the second phase of the trials. Phase Two becomes more dangerous and epic, mostly because there are a lot of Cranks, the name of people who caught the Flare disease and are not immune to it. Besides, new characters are also taking charge, and they all need to fight to stay alive.

The previous one was better

I agree that the first book is so much better. The Scorch Trials didn’t give me the same effect that The Maze Runner gave me last year. The whole book was good, really, but it wass kind of boring. They spend 300 pages in the desert called the Scorch. And I was like, dude sorry, I didn’t know you were taking a full month vacation in Sahara, Barnes & Noble didn’t mention that on their review.

And the other thing is, new characters give so much drama, especially this Brenda girl and the whole love triangle thing. This one makes me hate Teresa (you will find out why in the end of the book). And the problem is, I USED TO LOVE TERESA. I feel like betraying her because now I like Thomas and Brenda more than Thomesa (so, people say that’s a ship name for Thomas and Teresa). Do you hate me now? Okay, I’m sorry. It’s also hard for me to admit it.

The rest of the book was okay. I did expect more but it wasn’t that bad. Still thrilling like the first book, with all of that puzzle solving and stuff. Could be so much better, but didn’t disappoint me either.

By the way, the movie trailer came out yesterday. Here’s the link for you guys to check out (if you haven’t):


Amazing, isn’t it?

Which one do you like better, The Maze Runner or The Scorch Trials?

you-wont-bring-me-down_regular

Leave a Reply

