BOOK REVIEW: The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1) by James Dashner

The_Maze_Runner_coverThe Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1)

by James Dashner

ISBN13: 9780385737944

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication date: October 6, 2009

Pages: 374

Genres: Science Fiction | Dystopia

Buy from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

starrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrradd to gr

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

I first became aware of this series because it was about to hit the big screen. All the mixed reviews I read got me confused, but some people I trust told me it was worth to read, so after a long delay I decided to buy it. It had been receiving a lot of buzzes, especially when they announced Dylan O’Brien as Thomas, the main character of the story. And it’s written “for fans of the Hunger Games” on the cover, which got me double-thrilled and had to jump onto page 1.

“If you ain’t scared… you ain’t human.”

The Glade…

This Thomas guy awakens with no memory of his past in a courtyard known as the Glade. Inside the Glade lives Gladers, who have been attempting to solve the Maze and escape from this place for years. They also need to fight off Grievers, horrible creatures that live inside the Maze, to stay alive. All of the sudden, Thomas gets himself a calling that he needs to be a Runner. Runners are chosen people who run inside the Maze every day to learn about it, and of course to find a salvation for it. Other Gladers think he’s crazy and they don’t trust him. But Thomas knows he can solve the Maze once and for all.

For fans of the Hunger Games.

I honestly disagree on that one. Yeah, okay, they have the same genre, but I think they’re completely different books. It’s more like “for fans of James Dashner’s books” because Dashner has his own writing style and plots.

Where do I begin? Oh right, the plot. Please don’t hate me, I’m being very honest right now. The plot was just too fast for me. (When I read people’s reviews about this book, nobody said it had a fast plot.) I didn’t even realize I was half way through the book. But I love solving puzzles and this book was interesting enough for me. IT HAS MANY PLOT TWISTS. BE AWARE.

The Grievers were quite terrifying

What I liked about The Maze Runner is the characters were all very likable, and the story was also exciting. The thing with the Grievers was pretty terrifying and a little too sadistic for my sister when we both watched the movie for the first time. Okay, I’m not supposed to talk about the movie but this is obviously not a thing for kids under 7, and for my mom (she hates bloody things). But all you need to know is the movie didn’t flop. You need to watch it after reading the damn book.

This trilogy (oh I forgot to mention it was a trilogy) is one of my favorite post-apocalyptic books ever written. I swear you’ll enjoy it. I have my own reasons for giving it 5 stars, just saying.

Here’s the movie trailer (The Maze Runner movie was released in September 2014):

No, I’m not going to make a movie review and discussion for this. It was released last year guys and all the hype is already gone. But you can count on me for the second book of the series, which is going to hit the cinema this September, The Scorch Trials. HOW EXCITING.

Did this book work out for you? Have you watched the movie?

you-wont-bring-me-down_regular

Leave a Reply

