BOOK REVIEW: Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

91yexV1m52L__SL1500_

Legend (Legend #1)

by Marie Lu

ISBN13: 9780142422076

Publisher: Speak

Publication date: April 16, 2013

Pages: 352

Genres: Dystopia

Buy from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

starrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrrstarrrrrrrrradd to gr

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Okay, wow. I got this book as a birthday present and I didn’t even know what to expect from it because some reviews on blogs got me nothing. It was so skeptical. They said it was pretty good, fine, cool, and all that. When I received this book I was all like “wow a very nice cover” and I creepily stared at it for hours. And after reading it I went “OH MY GOD. I NEED THE SEQUEL IN MY HANDS RIGHT NOW.

Legend is a nice action-packed novel…

It’s also full of adrenaline that will make your heart beats faster than ever (like what it did to me). This book has two different points of viewfrom June’s and Day’s. The setting takes place in Los Angeles, the Republic of America, in the year 2130. There’s also this kind of mutating plague that takes many of people’s lives annually. The cure is so expensive and only Republic people can afford it. So basically there’s this boy called Day who’s a ‘criminal’ and wanted by the Republic. And then there’s June, a genius girl, who’s asked by top military commanders to catch Day.

Independent characters

At the center stage, there are June and Day, brilliant protagonists, who fall for each other. Yeah, of course. It’s not a secret anymore. Lu has some strong characters and all of them have nice developments. I like June’s character, she’s an independent girl, she’s also hot and cool. (It’s because she shoots. I like girls who shoot.) I personally think Day is more likable. He’s a caring person. He always puts his family first, especially his mother, and that’s what I like the most.

“Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything’s possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time.”

All the feels

The storyline was a bit complicated, but I liked it. Some pages got me legit crying and like 60% of the book made me hold my breath while mouthing oh… my… god. There were some deaths I couldn’t handle. Oops. But I’m glad I found Marie Lu. Her writings are what I live for. This book also made me want to be a criminal for the Republic so that I would have this hot spy following me everywhere. But it’s just a fictional world anyway, so I’ll just continue my study to be an architect. And yeah, I’m expecting some thrilling things for the sequel.

Talking about the sequel, I actually got myself a copy already. It’s still sealed and I’m looking forward to reading it as soon as possible. I recommend people who haven’t started this series to start reading it, especially people who are into utopian and dystopian fiction.

If you want to watch the book trailer, here:

Did Legend get you excited?

you-wont-bring-me-down_regular

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

